On May, 20, 2014, the people of Malawi elected His Excellency Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika as President of the Republic of Malawi for a term of five years. His Excellency Professor Mutharika was sworn into office by the Chief Justice of Malawi on Saturday, May, 31, 2014 with Mr Saulos Chilima as his Vice–President.

His Excellency Professor Mutharika formally took over the Office of President of the Republic of Malawi on Monday, June 2, 2014.

The election was declared free, fair and credible by the Malawi Electoral Commission and International observers from the African Union, Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) and European Union.

His Excellency Professor Mutharika is the President of the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP).